Academic Committee

About the committee:

  • Chairs meet with Principal to discuss topics related to academics

  • Regular meetings with parents/guardians for feedback/questions

  • Facilitates communication between parents/guardians and IMSA

  • Looking for 1-2 chairpeople to represent sophomore parents

Calendar of events:

Academic Support Information

  1. Peer Tutors

Tutor Schedules:

•Mon, Tues, Wed & Thurs from 4p-6p and 8p-10p

•Sunday: varied between 9a-8p

Peer Tutors selected their preferred method of contact (ex. IMSA email, FB Messenger, SnapChat, Text).

Options:

One-on-One with peer tutor:

Student will reach out to peer tutor based on the course, tutor availability then contact via information listed on the spreadsheet.

Review Sessions:

As requested by faculty and/or students, review sessions will be held as needed by peer tutors for students as they prepare for a specific assessment, work on a final project, etc.


  1. Writing Center

Email sent from Ms. Erin Micklo, Writing Center Director & English Faculty including the email addresses for all Writing Center tutors, providing help with English, History, Science, or Wellness writing assignments.

Ms. Erin Micklo emicklo@imsa.edu


  1. Academic Support Page in Canvas

Academic Assistance Hub (which will house the Writing Center and Peer Tutoring directory and scheduling information) in the "classes" section of your Canvas page. In the meantime, however, here are the email addresses for all Writing Center tutors.

Writing Center Director; English Faculty

•Ms. Erin Micklo emicklo@imsa.edu

Learning Strategies Coordinator

•Ms. Amy Keck akeck@imsa.edu

Area Coordinator for Academic Supports

•Ms. Erin Ryan eryan@imsa.edu

Peer Tutor Liaisons in the Residence Halls

•-01 Rafael Gonzalez rgonzalez@imsa.edu

•-02 Robyn Norton rnorton@imsa.edu

•-03 Dana Drier ddrier@imsa.edu

•-04 Shane Cowsert scowsert@imsa.edu

•-05 Ryan Pfefferle rpfefferle@imsa.edu

•-06 Kylie Marsden kmarsden@imsa.edu

•-07 Kevin Lim klim@imsa.edu

Academic Support Specialist

•Dr. Linda Hefferin lhefferin@imsa.edu

Director of Pre-Enrollment Programs

•Dr. Anita White awhite@imsa.edu

Math Instructional Program Aide

•Ms. Christine Loos cloos@imsa.edu

•Ms. Loos Zoom Link:

https://imsa.zoom.us/j/8785710942


  1. IMSA’s Library- Informational Resource Center (IRC)

Research, Citing, Sources & Technology Support

-Home page: https://www.imsa.edu/academics/library/

-Chat assistance available most times of school day

-Subscription to almost 100 different research databases to find articles and ebooks

-Leisure reading and listening available: https://ircguides.imsa.edu/c.php?g=137972&p=1206453

-Appointments available for help with research at Schedule a research help appointment

(https://meet-with-connie.appointlet.com/b/connie-james-jenkin)

-Contact: Connie James-Jenkin at cjames-jenkin@imsa.edu

IMSA Academic and College Admissions Webinars

Advanced Placement exams: to take or not to take? – October 5, 2021

Has my child applied to college yet? – November 2, 2021

Standardized Tests: which ones to take? – November 16, 2021

College Admissions 101 – December 7, 2021

IMSA Course Selection Process – February 1, 2022


Watch the recordings at https://www.imsa.edu/academics/college-and-academic-counseling/.

Upcoming SAT Test Information

SAT Test Dates and Registration Information: To access SAT practice tests, register, and view registration deadlines, please visit www.collegeboard.com


March 12, 2022 (IMSA IS a test site)

May 7, 2022 (IMSA IS a test site)

June 4, 2022 (IMSA is NOT a test site)

Upcoming ACT Test Information

ACT Test Dates and Registration Information: To register and view registration deadlines, please visit www.act.org


February 12, 2022 (IMSA is NOT a test site)

April 2, 2022 (IMSA IS a test site)

June 11, 2022 (IMSA is NOT a test site)

July 16, 2022 (IMSA is NOT a test site)

Questions? Contact the Academic Committee

Academic@IMSAPAC.org